Vegan Eggnog

15 December 2014 | By

vegan-eggnog2Who says vegans can’t enjoy some delicious eggnog this holiday season? No one, because here’s a vegan eggnog recipe–yes, it does not contain milk or eggs–that’s also gluten-free and is sure to satisfy your craving for your favorite holiday drink.

This is also a great recipe for non-vegans who are trying to watch their calories but don’t want to completely shun all their holiday indulgences!

 

 

Here’s what you’ll need:

-3 cups almonds
-4 cups water
-1 tablespoon vanilla extract
-2 tablespoons agave nectar or honey
-2 tablespoons yacon syrup
-2 teaspoons ground nutmeg
-¼ teaspoon ground cinnamon
-a pinch of ground cloves
First, make some almond milk–start by soaking the almonds overnight. When they’re done soaking, throw out the water and rinse the almonds repeatedly in water until it runs clear.
Dump your almonds and your four cups of water into a blender and blend well. Place a cheesecloth over a bowl or jug, then pour the contents of your blender on top of the cheesecloth so it can strain out the crushed almond pulp.
Add the rest of the ingredients, then shake well. Spike with a bit of alcohol (use rum, bourbon, whiskey or brandy) if desired!
Chill and serve.



Join the Conversation